banner.gif (3613 Byte)

Corner.gif 1x1.gif Corner.gif
1x1.gif You are at: Home - Discussion Forum 1x1.gif
Corner.gif 1x1.gif Corner.gif
      
round_corner_upleft.gif (837 Byte) 1x1.gif (807 Byte) round_corner_upright.gif (837 Byte)
Old 12-14-2020, 02:56 PM   #1
imported_Next_Saturday
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 426
Default Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

I don't know about anyone else, I can't seem to access corfid.com with Chrome or Safari browsers (haven't been able to for months) but Mozilla's Firefox browser seems to work. I don't know if it's because the site in not secured (SSL)?
__________________
"I'll see you all next Saturday..."
imported_Next_Saturday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 03:06 PM   #2
imported_Ordinary_Man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Biscuit City
Posts: 116
Default Re: Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

Firefox is all I ever use. Didn't realize other browsers cause problems.
imported_Ordinary_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2020, 06:15 AM   #3
paskatefan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Philadelphia., PA
Posts: 461
Default Re: Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by imported_Ordinary_Man View Post
Firefox is all I ever use. Didn't realize other browsers cause problems.

Same here. I will continue to use Firefox to view this site & others.

Gail
paskatefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2020, 08:56 PM   #4
Rob1956
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 443
Default Re: Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

Tried with the new Chrome Edge and it wouldn't work. Why in God's name would a website be consigned to work with only one browser. What in the world happened?
Rob1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2020, 02:06 PM   #5
imported_Next_Saturday
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 426
Default Re: Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

Rob, I think its a matter of this site being built a number of years ago, and there hasn't been updates to keep up with the browsers.
__________________
"I'll see you all next Saturday..."
imported_Next_Saturday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2020, 10:09 PM   #6
BendRick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bend,Oregon,USA
Posts: 170
Default Re: Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

Yes same thing here. I have Microsoft Edge, it doesn't work, have to switch to Internet Explorer. Emailed our webmaster but no reply.
BendRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2020, 06:30 PM   #7
OldDan
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Park Forest, IL
Posts: 54
Default Re: Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

Same here, I have to use Firefox. It's been going on for several months in Safari. Says the error is: "cannot decode raw data" (NSURLErrorDomain:-1015)
OldDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2020, 10:44 PM   #8
Mike Dixon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 24
Default Re: Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

I hate and loathe Microsoft from the moment they stopped supporting outlook express and never bothered with a similar upgrade in vista and beyond. I DON'T want new versions in anything.
Mike Dixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2021, 06:36 PM   #9
Rob1956
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 443
Default Re: Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

This is really weird. Only Firefox works, Edge Chromium and Chrome don't. Corfid needs to contact their web provider. They're not getting what they're paying for.
Rob1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2021, 06:16 PM   #10
Rob1956
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 443
Default Re: Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by imported_Next_Saturday View Post
Rob, I think its a matter of this site being built a number of years ago, and there hasn't been updates to keep up with the browsers.
I suspect you are quite right. However, it's the site provider's duty to keep things up to date. That is, unless Corfid is running off his own server and has never kept up with updates/improvements.
Rob1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2021, 11:25 AM   #11
charlene
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 15,573
Default Re: Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

Hi - I was using SAFARI on my MAC and was locked out a few months ago. Dave in Australia, along with a few others contacted me about things and said he noted a POST title - use FIREFOX.. I just yesterday tried this and it works - I did hear from Florian (owner of corfid) before Christmas and he was going to look into things but haven't heard back despite messaging him to let him know about the Firefox / server issue.
THis site is 21+ years old ...lol..
charlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2021, 12:55 PM   #12
imported_Next_Saturday
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 426
Default Re: Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

I think part of the problem is that corfid is not a secure site (No lock symbol in the URL string). If Florian can get a security certificate, I'm guessing it will start working with any browser. It should cut down on the spamming to the site as well.
__________________
"I'll see you all next Saturday..."
imported_Next_Saturday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2021, 07:33 PM   #13
charlene
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 15,573
Default Re: Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

it seems odd that after 21 years this would occur..
Question. I have a MAC and have been using SAFARI.. I use FIREFOX to access this site. It seems to be causing issues with my MAC..
How do I go about having FIREFOX as the only browser and transfer all my log in info on some sites etc.??
charlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2021, 08:46 PM   #14
Rob1956
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 443
Default Re: Try Firefox to access Corfid.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by imported_Next_Saturday View Post
I think part of the problem is that corfid is not a secure site (No lock symbol in the URL string). If Florian can get a security certificate, I'm guessing it will start working with any browser. It should cut down on the spamming to the site as well.
Bingo! I think you got it!
Rob1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
downleft 1x1.gif (807 Byte) downright